Kartik Aaryan, Karan Johar, Mrunal Thakur, Darlings, Pathaan receive honorary awards, Sita Ramam, Jubilee, Agra win top awards at IFFM 2023, while Rani Mukerji, Mohit Agarwal bag top acting honours

The 14th Indian Film Festival of Melbourne (IFFM) Awards have taken the center stage, honouring the finest cinematic gems from the Indian film industry. This annual event which is held in the heart of Australia, honors the remarkable talents of the Indian film fraternity, spanning across movies as well as OTT series. The prestigious awards night, as always, was an evening of glamour and recognition, where the best of Indian cinema and the OTT landscape were acknowledged for their outstanding contributions.

The awards ceremony was held at the iconic Hamer Hall in Melbourne. In its grandeur, all witnessed the convergence of artists, filmmakers, and enthusiasts, creating an unforgettable night to celebrate cinematic brilliance. This 2023 IFFM awards night paid tribute to the excellence achieved in the past year and also showcased the dynamic and evolving landscape of Indian entertainment celebrating the diversity of the films and content from the subcontinent. Rani Mukerji for Mrs Chatterjee Vs Norway and Mohit Agarwal took home the top acting honours while Sita Ramam was announced the Best Film, Agra the Best Indie Film, Kannada Filmmaker Prithvi Konanur Best Director.

Here’s the complete list of winners:

Jury Awards

Best Documentary:

To Kill A Tiger

Best Indie Film:


Best Performance in Film (MALE):

Mohit Agarwal for Agra

Best Performance in a film (FEMALE):

Rani Mukerji for Mrs Chatterjee Vs Norway

Best Director:

Prithvi Konanur – Hadinelentu (Seventeeners)

Best Film:

Sita Ramam

Best Performance (MALE) in a Series:

Vijay Varma for Dahaad

Best Performance (FEMALE) in a series:

Rajshri Deshpande for Trial By Fire

Best Series:


Best Short Film – People’s Choice:

Connection Kya Hain by Nilesh Naik

Best Short Film – Australia:

Home by Mark Russel Bernard

Honorary Awards

Equality in Cinema Awards to the movie “Darlings”

People’s Choice Award To Pathaan

Award to Karan Johar for his 25 years as a filmmaker

Rising Global Superstar of Indian Cinema – Kartik Aaryan

Diversity in Cinema Award – Mrunal Thakur

Desruptor Award – Bhumi Pednekar

Rainbow Stories Award to Onir for Pine Cone


Leave a Reply