52nd IFFI Opens to A Grand Opening, Drink Copiously from the Cup of Cinematic Inspiration

52nd IFFI to showcase more than 300 films including 148 international films from 73 countries.Satyajit Ray’s movies opened a whole new world to me: Satyajit Ray Lifetime Achievement Awardee Martin Scorsese. Radiant charisma of Satyajit Ray will be etched in my memory forever: Satyajit Ray Lifetime Achievement Awardee Istvan Szabo. Hema Malini conferred Indian Film Personality of the Year Award for 2021; Prasoon Joshi to be presented the award on closing day. IFFI 52 announces winners of ‘75 Creative Minds of Tomorrow’. Youngest Talent chosen is 16-year-old from Bihar, informs I&B Minister. Come and Be a part of India’s ‘Cinematic Kaleidoscope’ of ‘Collaborative diversity’: Union I&B Minister at IFFI 52 Opening Ceremony. “Government aims to make India the hub for world cinema, the place of choice for filmmakers and film lovers”: I&B Minister Anurag Thakur. “With unique combination of connectivity, culture and commerce, India is poised to be at the epicentre of the cinematic ecosystem”. Cinematic gems from BRICS nations to be featured as part of both BRICS Film Festival and Focus Country Sections. Major OTT platforms will participate for the first time in the history of IFFI

As the nation and the world strive to brave the Himalayan odds wreaked by the COVID-19 pandemic, the resolve and resilience of our shared humanity have enabled us to find wellsprings of hope amidst the winter of despair, to keep up the ceaseless pursuit of a better present and future for ourselves and our posterity. The 52nd edition of the International Film Festival of India, a skillfully curated collection of the best of Indian and world cinema, got off to a colourful start with a star-studded and artistically inspiring opening ceremony, at the Dr. Shyama Prasad Mukherjee Indoor Stadium, in Panaji, Goa today, November 20, 2021.

The opening ceremony saw the graceful presence of Governor of Goa Shri P S Sreedharan Pillai; Union Minister for Information and Broadcasting, Shri Anurag Singh Thakur; Chief Minister of Goa, Dr. Pramod Sawant; and Union Minister of State, Information and Broadcasting, Shri L. Murugan. The galaxy of stars who infused creative vibrancy and artistic splendour to the opening ceremony included towering personalities of Indian cinema including Salman Khan, Ranveer Singh, Ritesh Deshmukh, Genelia Deshmukh and Shraddha Kapoor, amongst others.


Leave a Reply